top of page
  • The National Biodiesel Board

National Biodiesel Board elects new governing board

The National Biodiesel Board returned to in-person discussions mid-November in Washington, D.C., electing new governing board leaders as one act of business. The elected leaders span the biodiesel and renewable diesel industry, an important strategy as the trade association steps into its fourth decade and moves to rebrand itself to represent biodiesel, renewable diesel and sustainable aviation fuel.

“This year will be critical to have strong leadership guiding our organization as we evolve to showcase all of the fuels we represent,” said Donnell Rehagen, CEO of NBB. “The country is demanding cleaner-burning transportation and home heating fuels to reduce GHG emissions, and NBB’s governing board will continue to play a critical role in navigating this exciting time for our industry.”

Following a vote by NBB members, the following individuals will serve two-year terms:

  • Chad Stone, Renewable Energy Group Inc.

  • Chris Hill, Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council

  • Dave Walton, Iowa Soybean Association

  • Harry Simpson, Crimson Renewable Energy LLC

  • Kent Engelbrecht, Archer Daniels Midland Co.

  • Mike Devine, World Energy LLC

  • Ryan Pederson, North Dakota Soybean Council

Greg Anderson (Nebraska Soybean Board), Tom Brooks (Western Dubuque Biodiesel LLC), Tim Keaveney (Hero BX), Gary Louis (Seaboard Energy LLC), Mike Rath (Darling Ingredients Inc.), Rob Shaffer (American Soybean Association), Robert Stobaugh (Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board), and Paul Teta (Kolmar Americas Inc.) remain on the board. The board elected Stone as chair, Rath as vice chair, Shaffer as second vice chair, Simpson as treasurer, and Pederson as secretary. Engelbrecht continues his role as past chair.

NBB’s membership continues to diversify, with members representing the entire supply chain from feedstock production and processing to market development and fuel supply. The organization will celebrate three decades of success during its 30th anniversary in 2022 during the National Biodiesel Annual Conference & Expo.

“We’ve accomplished so much thanks to dedicated board members—but ‘thank you’ doesn’t seem to do it justice,” Rehagen said. “Throughout our organization’s history, we’ve helped the industry overcome challenges and set a path forward toward a strong future. That would not have been possible without the leadership of our board and their ability to represent members’ perspectives from across the country.”

Made from an increasingly diverse mix of resources such as recycled cooking oil, soybean oil and animal fats, biodiesel and renewable diesel are better, cleaner fuels that are available now for use in existing diesel engines without modification. NBB is the U.S. trade association representing the entire biodiesel and renewable diesel value chain, including producers, feedstock suppliers and fuel distributors.



Frazier, Barnes & Associates LLC
Agriculture for Energy to Grow Hawaii's Economy
Inflectis Digital Marketing
Clean Fuels Alliance America
Plasma Blue
WWS Trading
Sealless canned motor pump technology
HERO BX: Fuel For Humanity
R.W. Heiden Associates LLC
CPM | Crown Global Companies
Clean Fuels Conference - Fort Worth, TX - Feb. 5-8, 2024
Engine Technology Forum
Biobased Academy
Michigan Advanced Biofuels Coalition
Missouri Soybeans
Ocean Park
Soy Innovation Challenge
Myande Group
bottom of page