top of page
  • The American Soybean Association

American Soybean Association elects 2023 executive committee, welcomes 13 new board members

During its annual meeting in St. Louis this month, the American Soybean Association elected the leaders who will guide the organization through the coming year’s top advocacy priorities, including the much-anticipated 2023 Farm Bill, among other policy issues.

Daryl Cates of Illinois, who previously served as ASA vice president, will serve as 2023 ASA president. Cates is a fourth-generation farmer, raising soybeans, corn, wheat, and double-crop beans on his family operation. He’s been on the ASA board since 2018.

Immediate past president Brad Doyle of Arkansas moves to the role of ASA chairman. Former chairman Kevin Scott of South Dakota rotates off the nine-member executive committee and retires from the board.

The ASA board elected Josh Gackle of North Dakota as ASA vice president, a role that puts him in line to serve as the association’s president in 2024.

In addition, the board elected Caleb Ragland of Kentucky as ASA secretary; Scott Metzger of Ohio as treasurer; and Dave Walton of Iowa, Alan Meadows of Tennessee, Ronnie Russell of Missouri, and Jered Hooker of Illinois as at-large members of the executive committee.

In addition to Scott, ASA bid farewell to and celebrated the efforts of several other directors who retired this week, including Jerry Bambauer of Ohio; Gerry Hayden of Kentucky; Brian Kemp of Iowa; Willard Jack of Mississippi; Matt Stutzman of Michigan; and Ron Moore of Illinois. Moore served as ASA president in 2017, and Hayden served as WISHH chair from 2020-’22.

ASA welcomed 13 new directors who began their nine-year terms, including John Fleming of North Carolina; Janna Fritz of Michigan; Elaine Gillis of Indiana; Rusty Goebel of Ohio; Tanner Johnson of Wisconsin; Jeff King of Kentucky; John Mark Looney of Mississippi; Jim Martin of Illinois; Jordan Scott of South Dakota; Jimmie Lee Shaw of South Carolina; Justin Sherlock of North Dakota; Pat Swanson of Iowa; and Russell Wolf of Missouri.

Frazier, Barnes & Associates LLC
Agriculture for Energy to Grow Hawaii's Economy
Inflectis Digital Marketing
Clean Fuels Alliance America
Plasma Blue
WWS Trading
Sealless canned motor pump technology
HERO BX: Fuel For Humanity
R.W. Heiden Associates LLC
CPM | Crown Global Companies
Clean Fuels Conference - Fort Worth, TX - Feb. 5-8, 2024
Engine Technology Forum
Biobased Academy
Michigan Advanced Biofuels Coalition
Missouri Soybeans
Ocean Park
Soy Innovation Challenge
Advertise Here Today!
bottom of page